jump to navigation

Reverb10 December 30, 2010

Posted by A. Robinson in Reverb10.
trackback

Okay, so Christmas has me way behind, but I AM GOING TO FINISH THIS DANG IT.

December 12 – Body Integration. This year, when did you feel the most integrated with your body? Did you have a moment where there wasn’t mind and body, but simply a cohesive YOU, alive and present? (Author: Patrick Reynolds)

This is an interesting prompt, because this year I’ve felt more alienated from my own body than I ever have.  From allergies to back problems, I really struggled to get myself in order.

However, I did discover PiYo, which is a mixture of Pilates and Yoga.  Though it hasn’t fixed all of my problems, it gave me a chance to try and get in tune with my body.  Though it wasn’t always successful, I always felt a little better after leaving a class.

This year, I just didn’t jive with myself.  I’ve been stiff, static, and sick.  I’ve always been comfortable in my skin, but this year I felt as if my body was working against me and really hampering my productivity.  After having a few weeks off, I feel better, but not totally in sync.  I think a combination of stress, overcommittment, and exhaustion threw me off, and I hope that 2011 will help me get back on track.

December 13 – Action. When it comes to aspirations, it’s not about ideas. It’s about making ideas happen. What’s your next step? (Author: Scott Belsky)

This is pretty easy, since in graduate school your next step is lined out for you.  Right now, it’s completing my coursework.

It’s the steps after that which become really problematic.  After I complete my coursework, I begin reading for my comprehensive exams, where I pick three subject areas to specialize in.  The problem is, I like tons of literature.  The only areas I know I HATE are 18th century literature and modernism.  Other than that, I’m really open.

Right now, I’m thinking about Victorian literature, which I’ve always had a passion for.  Of course, my major emphasis has been gender, which I’ll keep with.  However, after that, I have no idea.  I used to be really opposed to American literature, but now I’m pretty okay with it.  I’m really interested in the American West, but not westerns, per se.  Minority literature, like African-American literature, has always fascinated me, and I’ve done quite a bit of work with Southern lit, too.  Sigh.

I really need to crack down on this—I only have a few months to decide.

December 14 – Appreciate. What’s the one thing you have come to appreciate most in the past year? How do you express gratitude for it? (Author: Victoria Klein)

TIME.  This year, I have come to really appreciate my time (though I can’t say that I use my time any better.  Cue sad trombone).

I’ve come to really value my own time, but I’ve also become acutely aware of others’, as well.  I don’t waste other people’s time if I can help it, and when people willingly spend time with me, I try and thank them for it.

December 15 – 5 Minutes. Imagine you will completely lose your memory of 2010 in five minutes. Set an alarm for five minutes and capture the things you most want to remember about 2010. (Author: Patti Digh)

Ooh, a toughie.  Here we go…

I really don’t want to forget playing games with my grandparents.  I always laugh so hard when we sit down and play Uno or Yahtzee.  I’m glad that John has come to appreciate that, too.

I’ll never forget the Razorback game that lasted 6 hours because of rain delays.  John’s dad and brother were able to find John, Courtney, and I by my love of kettle corn, and we watched the whole thing, start to finish.  (Also, I want to remember sledding on Christmas, even though that technically was LAST Christmas.  Hoo boy, that was wicked fun!)

Diving and Cozumel.  What a wonderful reward for finishing my thesis.  I’d like to forget having my ear nibbled by a creepy old mariachi dude, but that crap is pretty memorable.

I also don’t want to forget my thesis work.  It was amazingly difficult, but it was the first time I really felt like an academic.  I researched it top to bottom, and presenting it felt amazing.  It reassured me that I can survive in academia, and maybe even be good at it.

I want to remember my honors composition II class, too.  I really felt like a literature teacher, and I think I did my job to the best of my abilities at the time.  I know I can do a better job now.

Most importantly, though, I don’t want to forget the quiet moments with John, where we just sat and were.


Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

