jump to navigation

I’m Lovin’: Timbuk2 March 25, 2010

Posted by A. Robinson in Lovin'.
Tags: ,
trackback

Have you heard of Timbuk2 bags?  NO?!  Oh my God, seriously, people.  Get yourselves to an outdoors store and drop some serious cash, already.

Anyway, some explication: everyday there is a war raging in my head and in my pocketbook.  On one hand, I’m a fan of good, functional, sturdy design.  Usually this translates to me being a fan of expensive things.  Take my engagement ring for example (I will spare you pictures).  The design is classic, but John was sure to buy one with a thick band and really sturdy diamond-holdy-prongies.  Right after he proposed he told me he specifically asked about the durability of the ring, and the jeweler said that as long as I don’t run over it with a truck, it should be good for at least a few years.  Of course, that cost money.  How much, I’ll never know–John and I agreed that there’s really no need for that.  He just phrased it as, “If you knew, you’d make me take it back.”

On the other hand, I am an incredible cheapskate.  I mean, An. Incredible. Cheapskate.  I refuse to buy things full price.  With the exception of groceries, I really can’t remember the last thing I bought that wasn’t at least 10% off.  My mom taught me how to save money, and save I do.  As a matter of fact, this drives John nuts sometimes.  He’s really fiscally responsible, but I take it to a whole ‘nother level.  I’d rather spend a week DIY-ing something to save $50 than give that money to The Man.  Anyway, what I’m getting at is that I have rich people tastes with poor people sensibilities, which basically makes me schizophrenic when I’m shopping.

That’s why when I first saw Timbuk2 bags at our local outdoors store I nearly had an aneurism.  They’re sturdy and completely, wonderfully functional.  Not only that, but the company itself is dedicated to sustainability and small business, which I love. Then I looked at the price tag and had a fit.  Buy it, said my luxe half, while the other subconsciously made my hand grip my wallet until my fingers cramped.  I mean look at them.  They’re magnificent.

So many styles, so little money.

After months of my going on and on about them, John finally bought me one for my birthday a few years ago.  The best thing is the organizational system these bags come equipped with.  They hold TONS (I have a medium Outtawhack, which unfortunately, they don’t make anymore).  I can carry my laptop, a few books, my phone, and various ephemera comfortably.  My bag converts to a backpack for when things get extra strenuous, too.  For me, it’s been invaluable.  The size of the bag accommodates everything I could want and then some, and its functionality helps me to cull all the crap I don’t need in order to pack only what I do.

Also, it’s seriously the sturdiest bag I’ve ever owned.  Though I still carry my conventional backpack to school, this is the only bag I travel with.  The top flap hooks with snaps AND velcro, so in airport security lines, all of my pertinent information is easily accessible with one hand.  When everyone else is fumbling for their crap, I whip mine out like a pro.  My laptop compartment is heavily padded and lined in corduroy, and the whole bag is lined in PVC waterproof lining to keep out any water.  I mean, it’s like they thought of everything.

So, if you’re ever in the market for a high end bag, I recommend Timbuk2 with all my heart and soul.  Actually, just browse through their website for a few minutes and see if you don’t fall in love.

Comments»

1. Lindsey - March 25, 2010

You bag whore.

dorianagraye - March 26, 2010

And proud of it!

2. Aba - March 28, 2010

I adore Timbuk2! I had a red messenger bag that I sent back to them for repairs but it got lost in the mail on its way and even though I thought I’d paid for tracking, I guess the UPS guy didn’t give it to me. I’m still a bit heartbroken over that.

I’ve moved on to mostly buying Tom Bihn products, which are made by an even smaller US company and tend to be more expensive, but I still have a soft spot for Timbuk2! 🙂 I still have a few random accessory products from them that I use all the time.

dorianagraye - March 28, 2010

Man, sometimes mail services can be a drag.

I’d actually heard to Tom Bihn products before, and the people who use them are always really, really pleased with them. They’re really modern chic when you see them in person, too. 🙂

Aba - March 29, 2010

lol, I have to admit that being a Tom Bihn fan is almost like being in a mini cult. We’re all so damn happy and we keep trying to convert other people. I actually met the guy (Tom Bihn) and he’s pretty awesome. The factory is nice and small and cozy. =)


Leave a Reply

