jump to navigation

I Hate to Even Post This March 10, 2010

Posted by A. Robinson in Crazy Magnet.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Today I was squirreling around the internet searching for birthrates out of wedlock.  The first link that came up led me to the Stormfront.org forums (I’m not going to link to it because, seriously, the site doesn’t need any more hits).

The source article was fine; it was just embedded a link to a New York Times article–40% of all American children are now born out of wedlock, according to this source.  But as I read through the replies, I was increasingly horrified.  One commenter blamed the increase on “race-mixing whores.”  I figured this guy would get lit into, but as I kept reading, there were all sorts of racist comments.  People were blaming the increase on Hispanics and African-Americans, citing their dependency on the white man’s tax dollar.  I couldn’t believe it, until I realized that I was on a white nationalist message board.

Oh. My. God.  I knew some crazy stuff happened out there on the internet, but SERIOUSLY?  A whole forum dedicated to WHITE SUPREMACY AND RACISM?  No lie, the boards were broken up topically and globally. Turns out, if you’re a racist neo-nazi in Switzerland, there are some folks who really want to hang out and chat with you.  The really disgusting thing was that there were, literally, tens of thousands of posts.  It wasn’t like this was Alabama John Doe’s backyard project.  It’s popular, and that’s terrifying.  Crazy people by themselves are bad enough, but crazy people en masse are dangerous.  Very, very dangerous.

Comments»

1. Aba - March 10, 2010

Every now and then I come across things like that on the internet and they give me chills.

2. Guillaume - March 11, 2010

Dangerous indeed.

I’ve heard (via a Stormfront member who insisted, a year or so ago, on posting on debate forum I sometime visit – he was suitably unpopular) about at least one case where one of their member got investigated by police. It ended with a shooting (yes, oo) match, and a dead stormfront member.

The guy who told the story on that debate forum was presenting it as “police oppression” and the dead guy as a martyr for the cause.

Fucking scary is pretty accurate.

Guillaume - March 11, 2010

Oh, addendum – that was in *Canada*. People getting killed by the police is supposed to be rare :-p

dorianagraye - March 14, 2010

Absolutely terrifying. Good Lord, people are so crazy.


Leave a Reply

