jump to navigation

Winter Read-a-thon December 13, 2009

Posted by A. Robinson in BookLust, Life.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

I should start this post with a big ol’ HAPPY BIRTHDAY to JohnJohn.  I gave him Modern Warfare 2, and he’s been playing while I type/blog/bake him a cake.  We’re going to see The Blind Side tonight…I’ll let you know how it is.

I can’t even begin to tell you how behind I am on Christmas.  I mean, seriously.  I’ve been running around like a chicken with my head cut off since Thanksgiving; as a matter of fact, the longest conversation I’ve had with John since Turkey Day was last night over dinner.  Ugh, it’s been awful, but it’s done now.  One more stack of papers to grade and I’m home free until January.  I need it: I am seriously burned out.  I have some nifty crafts planned in the next week, too.  Woot for free time.

Part of what I love most about Christmas break is the chance to read things that I’m interested in, though this break will be peppered with texts for my thesis and/or school.  That’s fine, though, they’ll be interesting enough.  Here’s the list of what, in an idea world, I’d like to read this break, including a section of MUSTS.

MUST READ:

  • Robinson Crusoe by Daniel Defoe
  • Heading West by Doris Betts
  • The Sharp Teeth of Love by Doris Betts
  • No Country for Old Men by Cormac McCarthy (I’m teaching this one)

WANT TO READ:

  • Skin Trade by Laurell K. Hamilton (my guilty pleasure, har har)
  • All Over But the Shoutin’ by Rick Bragg (a southern memoir.  You might like this one, Bunny)
  • That Feminist Book that LindseyBunny Wants to Read (need title)
  • Belladonna by Anne Bishop
  • Hunger Games by I Don’t Know Who

So, what are you all planning to read this Christmas?  Any titles I need to add but haven’t?  Also, anyone up for a read-a-long?  Could be fun!

Comments»

1. Aba - December 16, 2009

I haven’t read the last two or three new Anita Blake books. I keep meaning to find them in a library but I keep not getting around to it.

Current Reading List:

Word War Z by Max Brooks

Books 5-6 of The Hollows by Kim Harrison

Tangled Webs: A Black Jewels Novel by Anne Bishop (and Sebastien, which I’ve owned for years but never finished reading)

The Born Queen (The Kingdoms of Thorn and Bone) by Greg Keyes (which is apparently a not very good ending to the series but I must finish it anyway).

The Princess Bride

Various books owned by my parents as I raid their library while I’m home. 🙂

dorianagraye - December 21, 2009

I’ve read the first two books in The Hollows, and I really liked them. Are the rest any good?

I have to say that I loved Sebastian, but it’s not for everyone. Really, I just LOVE Anne Bishop.

2. Lindsey - December 16, 2009

I just read Dune, so now I’ll feel compelled to read the sequels (though they surely won’t stack up to the original, I still force myself through series just to find out the ending. On that note, don’t bother reading beyond the first book in the Dark Tower series by Stephen King. Just not worth it. Currently plowing through the crappier sequels in the Ender’s Game series. Damn me.)

I’ll get that name to you. It was on my Amazon list, but I think someone must have bought it for me, b/c it has been removed. Hmm. 🙂

I love free time for reading and crafts. And sly all-too-short Bunny visits. Ashley should have more free time.

Also, John’s b-day is at such an inconvenient time. He should really work on that.

dorianagraye - December 21, 2009

I had a bunch of fun seeing you and Jeremy. Y’all are welcome at our place any old time.

I also have an ungodly need to finish book series. The Hamilton book is a case in point. The series has really gone down the crapper, but WHAT IF IT GETS BETTER? Right?

We need to talk to John about this “birthday” thing.


Leave a Reply

