jump to navigation

Pretty Thing: T-Shirt Skirt September 28, 2009

Posted by A. Robinson in Life, Lovin'.
Tags: , ,
trackback

So, John has come down with a nasty case of bacterial strep–as in, by 3:30 today he had a penicillin and a steriod shot right in the derrière.  Though he now has cute Band-aids down there–one on each cheek!–he won’t let me take a picture.  So, unfortunately, you’re stuck with my latest project.

After John and I moved into our new townhouse, we went through our clothes and thinned out the ranks.  John had a lot of oversized t-shirts that we planned on giving to Goodwill…at least, until I found this tutorial about how to make a paneled t-shirt skirt.  So I stole two shirts from the needy and got to work.
Three broken needles, two yards of blue-and-white striped fabric, and one afternoon later, I have my very own restyled skirt:
Ta-Da!

Ta-Da!

Please ignore my complete lack of photogeneity.  There’s really no help for it.
Anyway, I basically just took two of John’s nicer t-shirts (yes, I took good t-shirts from the poor, I’m an awful person) and whipped this up.  The blue band on the bottom is courtesy of a long-sleeved number.  Because of how the panels are cut, the skirt ends up being full without being Pentecostal.  You can get a better feel for that here:
I have no idea why my head looks so small.

I have no idea why my head looks so small.

The hardest part about this whole thing was how thick the fabric got when you started to hem it.  I was using light-duty needles, and I definitely broke a few.  Totally worth it, though.  It’s comfy, and absolutely great for travel because it doesn’t wrinkle.  I think this would also be a great project if you had graphic t-shirts you no longer wanted.  I can see the screen prints being adorable.
Comments»

1. thursdayborn - October 2, 2009

That’s amazing! It looks great on you. =) I really need to learn how to use a sewing machine. So many things I want to make.

dorianagraye - October 2, 2009

They’re super easy to use! The hardest part is stringing the thread. After that it’s “push the pedal and go!”

2. Lindsey - October 2, 2009

Freaking adorable. Next you could start stealing from the poor by selling these bad boys. 🙂

I miss my little domestic friend.

dorianagraye - October 2, 2009

I’m so glad you approve. 🙂 You still owe me a phone call.

guillaumehj - October 2, 2009

Said the girl who told me six months ago I had an email coming soon…

Still waiting, Ash :-p

lindseybunny - October 5, 2009

I know! I’m terrible. I had house guests all week. When are you free, love? And perhaps you should tell me via e-mail, text, or Facebook. You know, something I check more reliably than your comment section.

Though COUGH COUGH WHORE. At least I listen to voice mail. It’s not like some make believe place I let phone calls die in.


Leave a Reply

