jump to navigation

Y’all, I am READY to take it to some people September 10, 2009

Posted by A. Robinson in Life.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

I rarely discuss politics here, because…guess what?  The fastest way to lose friends and alienate people is by constantly harping on a) political beliefs and b) religious beliefs.  I know that I differ on both of these counts from most of my friends who, although tolerant of my backward ways, would promptly get sick of me if that’s all I decided to write about.  I love you guys.

But seriously.  I am so sick of having labels applied to conservatives willy nilly just because they happen to be conservative.  It also seems to me that most people are incapable of separating the talking heads on news stations and political figures from the average, everyday people that align themselves with the Republican party in some fashion.  It is unfair to think that every American who calls themselves Republican holds every tenant of the party as close to his heart as his Bible and gun.

I especially hate being called ignorant, stupid, classless, and anti-Obama because I remain aligned with the Republican party.  It is exactly this kind of agonism that keeps problems from being solved.  People spend so much time slinging cruel names at one another that actual issues–you know, those things that affect our daily lives, insignificant really–are either unresolved or resolved poorly.  Deborah Tannen wrote an article a few years ago called “We Need a Higher Quality Outrage” that sums up this problem in a completely bipartisan fashion.  It’s quite good.

Don’t think that this doesn’t go both ways.  Shame on conservatives for doing the same injustice to their liberal counterparts.  There’s no reason that we can’t respect each other’s opinions and engage in healthy debate.  I’m just sick of all of this awful name calling and mudslinging.

Comments»

1. Lindsey - September 10, 2009

I don’t think all conservatives are bad people. I’m sure most aren’t. I’m related to some I love very dearly, and I’m your friend. However, there are some out there that are blind sheep. I say this because I’ve met them, seen them, spoken with them. Two weeks ago I attended a town hall meeting where one man still couldn’t let the birther movement go–he asked (he was at the front of the line for goodness’ sake) something to the effect of ‘but really, we still don’t even know if Obama is a citizen.’ During the election cycle I spoke with someone who was a reasonably high up city employee in a neighboring town who wasn’t sure how she was going to vote until she looked further into the accusations that Obama didn’t put his hand over his heart during the Pledge of Allegiance and that he was a Muslim. The people who listen to talk radio and take it all to heart, those are the ones that stick out. Just like the crazy dems are the ones that can stick out to conservative audiences. It’s unfortunate, but true.

I think that politics are so clouding of vision that it’s difficult for people to listen to a member of the opposite party with a truly open mind. And that’s depressing.

On a side note, I’ve decided we should gang up and be mean to Libetarians instead of attacking each other. You know, bonding over a mutual enemy kind of thing.

2. dorianagraye - September 10, 2009

It’s not that there aren’t crazy fanatical party members out there. I know there are, and a lot of people blindly eat what is spoon-fed to them by their media outlet of choice. There will always be fanatics.

What I hate, though, is all of the gross, blanket name calling. Why call someone “stupid?” What good does that do? Instead, argue the issue, not the person. I’m just so sick of hearing all of those personal slanders being slung around like it’s totally permissible when it isn’t. We should be PISSED OFF. It’s a precedent that has been set with the political pundits and has now tricked down to the public.

I agree. Darn those libertarians TO HECK. While we’re at it, let’s go after the Green party, too. Let’s find some pitchforks and get to work.


Leave a Reply

