jump to navigation

Life List: 61-70 September 3, 2009

Posted by A. Robinson in Life.
Tags:
trackback

61.  Take cake decorating classes
Have you ever seen Ace of Cakes?  Let me tell you, every time I see one of those shows, I’m always struck by how beautiful the cakes are.  I’d love to be good enough at decorating cakes that I could volunteer my skills for free (just like John often takes gratis photos at weddings for our close friends).  I like being able to help, and I love being able to give.

62.  Stay in a hut with glass floor in Tahiti
This is like, the epitome of travel.  Tahiti is ridiculously expensive, so I know that I’ll only see Tahiti once.  By God, if those are the conditions, then I plan on seeing Tahiti right. Since I am in love with the ocean, and alawys have been, I want a chance to be close to it every moment I’m on the island.  Because the water is so impeccable there (and Bora Bora, which is actually a satellite island of Tahiti), the clarity is basically a non-issue.  I’d love to stay in a hut over the ocean where I can always see the sealife.

63.  Dive the Great Barrier Reef in Australia
The Great Barrier Reef is the largest coral reef in the world, and it’s teeming with life.  Though the water isn’t as clear as the Caribbean reefs–and there’s a danger of death from alligators, snakes, and jellyfish–I say, why not?  Much of the sealife on the Great Barrier Reef is unique to its ecosystem.

64.  Take cooking classes in Tuscany
What better place to learn the art of Italian cooking?

65.  Take a shark dive…somewhere
John has no desire to do this with me, but I’ve wanted to dive with sharks since I was in middle school.  I think it will be terrifying, but I also think it will be AWESOME.

66.  Dance in the rain during a warm summer shower
I used to do this all the time when I was a little kid.  Sometime between then and now, rain became something that I ducked inside to avoid.  How sad is that?  There should, overall, be more dancing in the rain.  I think it would solve a lot of the world’s problems.

67.  Learn to drive a stick shift…

68.  …so I can own a sports car
That’s right, baby.  I’ve always wanted a convertible sports car.  John and I have a deal: we can get a stick shift Camaro (one day, looong into the future) if, and only if, I know how to drive it before the purchase is made.  See, this all stems back to John’s family.  They own a Pontiac Solstice, which is cherry red and gorgeous, but only John’s dad knows how to drive it.  Pshaw.  If I can’t whip around town in it, there’s no use in having that big of a toy.

69.  Keep a prayer list/journal

I tell people I’ll pray for them–which I do, diligently, for a few days…until I forget.  I need to create a better system to help me remember whom I need to pray for and what I need to pray.  I figure a journal would be the best way for me to keep track.  I think I’d just cross off names and requests when they no longer became pertinent, and add more later.  At any rate, I need some sort of list.

70.  Celebrate my 50th wedding anniversary
This, of course, entails living until my 50th wedding anniversary, which we all know might or might not happen.  I always sort of figured I’d die circa 40, but perhaps not.  If I DO live this long, I’m going to throw one sick party, mark my words.

Comments»

1. Lindsey - September 4, 2009

I feel like you’ve been watching a lot of Travel Channel. 🙂

I’ll come to your 50th god willing and the creek don’t rise.

Love you, dear.

2. dorianagraye - September 9, 2009

Awww, we should both dye our hair blue for the occasion. 😉

3. Lindsey - September 10, 2009

Dear lord, yes!


Leave a Reply

