jump to navigation

Life List: 51-60 July 6, 2009

Posted by A. Robinson in Life List.
Tags:
trackback

Yes, yes, I know I’ve been silent lately.  And seriously, I break that with a Life List addition?  I’m a horrible person.  Thank God I’ve come to terms with that.

DC was wonderful, as I hope to explain in a post shortly.  I’m just waiting on pictures of my kite flying extravaganza to get downloaded from John’s Big Camera, and I’ll be set to go.  Until then, here’s 51 to 60…

51.  Document my life experiences with pictures
I never take pictures of ANYTHING.  This is mostly because I married a photographer who I expect should do all of the picture-taking, but alas, he does not.  I find that I miss out on capturing memories because I just plain forget to carry a camera with me.

52.  Grow a garden
My grandfather, for as long as I can remember, has always grown a massive garden.  I absolutely love helping out in and amongst the plants, and “harvesting” is always my favorite time of year.  I want to start a small container garden soon, but would love to have a giant plot of yummies one day.

53.  Visit the Mayan city of Coba during the Serpent Ceremony
While we were in Mexico, John and I had the opportunity to visit the Mayan-Toltecan city of Tulum, just south of Xpu-Ha on the Yucatan peninsula.  The history of the place, as well as the grandeur of the ruins, was fascinating.  Coba, the largest of the ruins, is also the most intact.

54.  Tango in Madrid
Oooh, que sexy.

55.  Dress like a hick and attend a NASCAR race
John (surprise!) loves NASCAR and really wants to go to a live race.  I, however, want to people watch.  The best way to do this, of course, is to blend in with the natives.  I picture teased hair, daisy dukes, white platform flip flops, and a henna tattoo.

56.  Take John to a demolition derby
Again, John likes cars.

57.  Lick the Eiffel Tower
Reference my photo of the Washington Monument.  I plan to “lick” every phallic trademark monument I come across.  Hey, a girl has to have goals!

58.  Attempt snowboarding ONCE
It goes without saying that I am not a winter sport kind of girl.  I much prefer the beach to the slopes any day.  However, John’s a skiier.  I have absolutely NO desire to ski, but I figure snowboarding looks kind of cool.   If I hate it, then I never have to do it again.  If I like it, then I’ll be able to hang out with John and his family in Colorado every few years on the Robinson Family Ski Trip.

59.  Have a neat, well-decorated home
I hate cluttered homes, and I’m an organizational freak (when I have the time).  I want to have a home that I can invite someone to on a whim without worrying whether there’s junk on the coffee table or crap stacked a mile high in the guest bedroom.  What I don’t want is a house that feels sterile and cold because it’s too perfect.  I want a home that’s enviable without being uh-home-like.

60.  Find 100 geocaches
This is actually harder than you would think.  Not only is it hard to find the time to cache, some of those boogers can be downright impossible.  So far we’ve found 38.

Comments»

1. lindseybunny - July 7, 2009

yay garden!

honey, you might best ask yourself what the mexicans wear at NASCAR–you might not pull off white trash quite right. At least, that sounds like the look you’re aiming for.

Whoo demolition derby, always have wanted to go. There’s going to be one at the county fair. 🙂

I thought snowboarding was harder than skiing?

You’ve always been neat, dear.

I’ll help you find a cache!

dorianagraye - July 8, 2009

I haven’t thought about what MEXICANS wear to NASCAR. Any suggestions?

Your county fair sounds awesome. Take lots of pictures.

Snowboarding might be harder than skiing, I’m not sure. All I know is that John’s whole family has been skiing since they were in pampers, and I hate feeling like dead weight.

2. tulumhotels - July 7, 2009

Did you make it to the beach next to the ruins


Leave a Reply

