jump to navigation

Life List: 31-40 May 18, 2009

Posted by A. Robinson in Life List.
Tags:
trackback

31.  Write and illustrate a comic series or graphic novel
I’ve loved comics since I was a little kid.  I cannot tell you how many hours I spent engrossed in Marvel’s X-Men series.  I think it’s such a unique vehicle for storytelling.  Not only are the stories themselves poignant and often fascinating, the art is (often, not always) stunning.  I’d like to try my hand at one eventually.  John’s really the artist in this family, but I firmly believe that I can learn anything from a book, so I maintain hope.

32.  Watch the sun set over the Mediterranean Sea
The Mediterranean is supposed to be a beautiful dive spot.  The nice thing about this particular goal is that I’m giving myself plenty of countries to choose from.  France, Spain…keeping the options open.

33.  Forgive those whom I hold grudges against
I’m a huge grudge holder.  Every once in a while, I’ll have a dream about punching a specific girl from high school in the face.  This can’t be healthy.  I need to figure out a way to truly forgive and forget, especially since this list of “People I Loathe and Despise” is beginning to get unmanageably long.

34. See the Roman Colosseum
I’ve learned so much about this place from Dr. Fredrick, it would be a shame to die without seeing it.

35.  Publish an academic article
I think this would be a) a lot of work and b) kinda awesome.  I’m not sure I’m actually smart enough to do this, but whatever.  Surely someone thinks I’m enlightened enough to publish my crap.

36.  Own two horses
Horses were such a huge part of my life growing up.  I definitely feel their absence in my daily life, and I can’t wait to fill that.  John, of course, doesn’t know how to ride, but he’s willing to learn.  I really can’t wait to yell at him teach him the ropes.  Besides, it will be nice to have them running around again.  I miss being plugged in with the equestrian community, too.

37.  Read every book on that BBC list
If you’re wondering what I’m talking about, I wrote about the BBC’s list of the 100 greatest books of all time a few months ago.  I think this would be a good place to start in terms of varying my reading interests.  Plus, if the BBC said they’re the best, then they obviously must be.

38.  Become proficient at CS4 (or 5, or 6, or whatever)
My first taste of Adobe CS3 came in the designing of my wedding invitations/programs, and it was a blast.  I really think this is going to become a necessary software to know (a la Microsoft Office) in the next 10 years.  Besides, I like playing around in Photoshop, and I know I’ve barely scratched the surface of what this puppy can do.

39.  Attend Courtney and Joel’s college graduation ceremonies
I want to celebrate in the achievements of my siblings (biological and adopted).  I can just imagine how proud I’ll be.  I’m sure I’ll cry like the sap I am.

40.  Learn how to ride a motorcycle
Seriously, I think crotch rockets are so cool.  I know they’re dangerous, but the gas milage/speed is so freakin’ appealing.

Comments»

1. rachelwashere - May 18, 2009

“Plus, if the BBC said they’re the best, then they obviously must be. ”

Haa because if it is said in a British accent, it is instantly more plausible if not absolute FACT.

Were you with me (I think John was) here in Tulsa at Kaffe Bona when I horrified the young man from ORU by insisting that he should learn a British accent because it makes you an automatically more trusted journalist? It was hilarious.

and yes, you MUST GO TO ROME.
(take me with you?)
xxx

2. lindseybunny - May 19, 2009

I was there Rachel, being horrifying with you.

Greece, Ash, consider Greece.

I think you can learn all of those things, though I hope you buy a helmet.

Oh, on the subject of books, when’s we starting?

And yeah, British accents are often more believable. True. Love you!


Leave a Reply

