jump to navigation

Life List: 21-30 May 8, 2009

Posted by A. Robinson in Life List.
Tags:
trackback

Mmmm, here are 10 more.  I’m surprised by some of the things that are ending up on these mini-lists…

21.  Attend the Kentucky Derby
So, there are many problems I have with horse racing.  However, the Derby is so iconically American that I can’t not like it.  Well, that, and I am DYING to wear a big floppy hat and a sundress to watch the ponies.  Also, wouldn’t it be nice to pick a winner?

22.  Dig for diamonds in Murfreesboro
When I was little, before we would come to Arkansas on our annual vacation my mom would always let me order the Arkansas Department of Tourism’s travel guides.  Every year I would highlight the entire section on Murfreesboro, and every year we’d get sidetracked.  I still remember the daydreams I’d have about finding rubies and emeralds amongst the dirt.  Even though I know it’s a long shot, it would still be fun to go and play in the mud.

23.  Take a gondola ride in Venice
I think Venice is fascinating.  After Rachel went and told me all about it, I’ve been wanting to see it for myself.  What better way to experience the city than by taking gondola through the canals?

24.  Ride down a natural waterfall…again
I’ve done this once already.  When I was little, my dad and uncle snatched my sister, cousin, and I up on a whim and took us to the Catwalks in New Mexico.   It’s one of the best memories I have.  As we hiked up and down through the canyons, my uncle let us swim.  Swim in our clothes. We all took turns sliding down a small natural waterfall and plunging into  the chilly 60 degree water below.  It was fantastic.

25.  Own land
This was one of the stipulations I gave John before we ever started seriously dating.  I made it supremely clear that I want to have a few acres of land.  I’ve always loved my grandparents house–they have enough land that they can do whatever they want, but not enough that it becomes a daily chore to maintain it.  I definitely want to build a horse stable on it.

26.  Become bilingual in Spanish
Like not having read the Bible in its entirety, this is also a source of great shame for me.  Spanish is part of my cultural history, and it’s always pained me that I can’t easily and simply converse in the language.  I really want to learn this because there’s a whole section of my family that can’t speak English, and I feel like I’m running out of time to get to know them.

27.  Write a novel…

28.  …and have it published.
When I was in high school, I used to write constantly.  Was it good?  No, of course not.  But it inspired me to try to be a good writer, which ultimately translated into my degree path.  My uncle once told me that all English majors ultimately aspire to write, and that’s the truth.  I would love to publish a novel one day.  It doesn’t have to be with a major publishing house; just having a limited run with an independent press would be enough for me.  I just want to be part of the literary dialectic that I’ve worked for years to become fluent in.  (And this is my life list, I can end a sentence in a preposition if I want to)

29.  Earn my MA in English
I’m on the  path to this, but it’s something that I’ve always wanted.  I think that earning a second degree is big enough to warrant its place right here.  This is inspiration for me to write a great thesis.

30.  Learn a trademark 3 course meal that I can whip out for guests
Since getting married, I’ve realized that I really like to entertain.  I don’t think there’s anything that says “I care about you” more than inviting people into your house and treating them real special-like.  I’m not a huge fan of cooking, but I do enjoy making something really yummy for other people.  It makes me happy to see them happy, and I find that I like to take care of the people that I love.  Huh, funny that.  Anyway, I want to have a few recipes that I can whip up that are scrumptious.

Comments»

1. Lindsey - May 10, 2009

you make awesome pesto. just serve soup and salad first. BAM. three course meal.


Leave a Reply

